Senior Prizegiving
Cromwell College Head Students for 2022, Tom Coudret and Hannah Bisset. Photo Jan Hawkins

The Cromwell College Senior Prizegiving was a basic, scaled-down version this year, with no parents or other whanau members present, under Covid restrictions.

The school provided the next best thing, which was live streamed for families to feel ‘present’ at the event.

Some traditions continued. Year 11 and 12 students were in regulation uniform, while the Year 13 leaving group impressed in their formal mufti wear.

The 2021 Head Students Jayde Wilson and Joshua Hancock welcomed students, staff and friends and whanau watching the live stream.

Principal Mason Stretch spoke of the changing world and acknowledged the depth of care provided by the staff during another challenging year saying, “Your commitment and manaaki supporting our students and your colleagues is a strength that I am both proud of and grateful for.”

To the students, he acknowledged that some of the experiences that are a highlight of school have been taken from many for another year, and that has been hard, adding “We have admired your ongoing engagement in learning, your maturity, sense of personal responsibility and commitment in spite of the disruption to school and community life.”

Staffing changes for 2022 were announced. Mathematics teacher Leeann Tombling, Year 8 teacher and Dean Jason Barron and Director of Learning Support, Janice Scott are leaving their positions. Assistant Principal, Karen Inglis is changing her role to become the new Director of Learning Support.

Senior Prizegiving
Cromwell College Dux for 2021,
Jemmimah McCombe-Rae. Photo Supplied

Kieran Parsons and Steve Hodkinson will be studying next year. Katrina Pollard will move to Watersports Centre programmes, and Melanie Mills will replace her in the PE team.

Danny and Kaye Winstanley will move from managing the Apartments, and Gareth Riches is leaving his role as Apartments OP Director.

The 2022 school prefects were announced, Molly Chirstiansen, Zachy Dickison, Eve Drinnan, Braedon Fiebig, Nina Firth and Lachlann MacTaggart, with Head Girl Hannah Bisset and Head Boy Tom Coudret.

Mason concluded by thanking the community for their support, wishing the students exam success and an enjoyable summer and sending blessings for the future to the Year 13 students.

Students and staff celebrated the successes of the students in diligence, excellence, contributions to school and community and sporting achievements.

An impressive list of vocational and tertiary scholarships were announced.

A favourite with everyone is the slide show of photographs and messages from the Year 13’s families. The final celebration of the event was the announcement of this year’s dux and proximate accessit.

They are Jemmimah McCombe-Rae and Olivia McKnight respectively.

Comments are closed.

You may also like